Virtual Companion Canvas

Virtual assistants (Apple Siri, Amazon Alexa or Google Assistant) as well as chatbots (e.g. in the customer service of online shops) have now found their way into our lives and are changing the way we interact with information systems. It is now possible to interact with computers in a human way using natural language.

With increasing technological progress we might not get answers like “Sorry, I didn’t understand you” anymore. In this context, we assume that an interpersonal connection (companion approach) can and should be created between the information system and the user, following the thought: “from assistance to companionship”.

Since technological implementation may be compley and not yet possible, the design and discussion should be separated from the implementation. The Virtual Companion Canvas (VC Canvas) is designed to support designers and practitioners in designing a Virtual Companion. The following graphic visualizes an exemplary design process for a Virtual Companion, in which the VC Canvas is used:

Virtual Companion Design Framework

Avatar
Dr. Timo Strohmann
Postdoctoral researcher & Founder

In my research I investigate the design and development of conversational agents.

Virtual Companion Canvas

Virtuelle Assistenten (Apple Siri, Amazon Alexa oder Google Assistant) als auch Chatbots (bspw. in der Kundenberatung von Onlineshops) haben mittlerweile Einzug in unser Leben erhalten und verändern die Art und Weise, wie wir mit Informationssystemen interagieren. So ist es nun möglich Computer auf menschliche Art und Weise, durch Verwendung natürlicher Sprache, zu bedienen.

Mit zunehmenden technologischen Fortschritt werden wir voraussichtlich auch Antworten wie „Entschuldige, ich habe dich nicht verstanden.“ hinter uns lassen. In diesem Zuge nehmen wir an, dass eine zwischenmenschliche Bindung (Companion-Ansatz) zwischen Informationssystem und Nutzer entstehen kann und betrachtet werden sollte, nach dem Motto: „vom Assistenten zum Weggefährten (engl. Companion)“.

Da die technologische Umsetzung ggf. noch nicht möglich ist, sollten Gestaltung und Planung von der Implementierung getrennt werden. Die Virtual Companion Canvas ( VC Canvas) hilft hier dabei die Konzeptionelle Gestaltung des Virtual Companions vorzunehmen. In der folgenden Grafik wird ein beispielhafter Gestaltungsprozess für einen Virtual Companion visualisiert, in welchem die VC Canvas verwendet wird:

Virtual Companion Design Framework

Avatar
Dr. Timo Strohmann
Forscher & Gründer

In meiner Forschung beschäftige ich mich mit der Gestaltung und Entwicklung von Conversational Agents.